什么是不孕不育?

Image if couple in bed

不孕不育是生殖系统出现的一种问题导致不能够怀孕。在美国大约有10%-15%的夫妻受到不孕不育的影响。通常是夫妻双方尝试怀孕一年以上并没有成功就诊断为不孕不育。

怀孕是一个很复杂的过程并且受到很多因素的影响:

  • 男性产生健康精子
  • 女性排健康的卵子
  • 输卵管的畅通,能够让精子顺利到达卵子
  • 精子能够与卵子相结合的能力
  • 受精卵能够着床在女性的子宫内
  • 良好的胚胎质量

最后,为了让怀孕能够顺利,胚胎必须在健康的和女性荷尔蒙充足的条件下发育。如果其中的一个条件受到损害,结果就是不孕不育。

不孕不育主要是女性的问题吗?

人们普遍认为不孕不育主要与女性有关。事实上,只有三分之一的不孕不育是由女性造成的。数据统计显示,不孕不育有三分之一是男性造成的,剩下的三分之一是由于双方造成的或者是一些未知因素。未知因素大约占不孕不育案例的20%。

什么造成男性不育?

最常见的例子就是男性精子缺乏(没有精子产生)和精液缺乏(只产生很少的精子)。有时,精子畸形的或者在它们到达卵子之前死亡。在极少数情况下,男性不育是由遗传性疾病引起的,如囊性纤维化或染色体异常

对于精子数量或精子流动性低的男性来说,可以通过临床验证的补充剂来改善精子参数。

 什么造成女性不孕?

造成女性不孕的常见原因是排卵障碍。排卵障碍大约影响25%的不孕不育。一些影响女性不孕的因素包括输卵管堵塞,这多发于患有盆腔炎或子宫内膜异位症的女性女性身上;先天性畸形导致子宫结构和子宫肌瘤会造成习惯性流产;年龄的增长也会导致卵巢排卵下降,特别是在35岁之后。

什么时候做不孕不育的检查?

美国生殖医学协会建议35岁以下的女性在尝试怀孕12个月没有成功后进行检查。超过35岁的女性在尝试怀孕6个月没有成功后进行检查。一些夫妻或者个人认为在检查一切正常之后再尝试怀孕会感到轻松一些。

最早什么时候检查?

夫妻在尝试怀孕之前可以要求医生对他们做一个全身检查来确定一切是否正常。您也可以在药店买一些非处方的测试工具来测试男性和女性的生育能力。

不孕不育是怎样诊断的?

之前提到过,如果一对夫妻尝试怀孕一年但是没有成功的时候,通常他们会寻求医疗帮助。医生会对双方进行检查,确定他们的健康状况以及造成不孕不育的因素。 医生还会了解夫妻两人的性习惯并确定两人是否是在合适的时间尝试怀孕。

如果没有发现任何的原因,那么就需要做更加精细的检查。对于女性而言,需要检查身体体温和排卵情况,照X光检查输卵管和子宫以及腹腔镜检查。对于男性而言就需要集中于检查精子的状况。

怎样治疗不孕不育?

大约85-90%的不孕不育病例采用传统的治疗方法,例如药物治疗或者手术修复生殖器官。一些辅助手段,例如试管婴儿也是一个选择。有些人发现听其他不孕夫妇的经历并与他们交流很有帮助。

什么是试管婴儿?

在输卵管堵塞或缺少输卵管或精子数量低的情况下,试管婴儿(IVF)为夫妇提供了生儿育女的机会。

将卵子从卵巢取出后与精子在体外培养皿中相结合。40个小时之后,检查卵子是否受精以及分裂成细胞。这些受精卵(胚胎)随后将会放入女性子宫中.

自1978年试管受精首次引入以来,它受到了媒体的广泛关注,目前它在美国所有不孕治疗中所占的比例还不到5%。

试管婴儿费用昂贵吗?

人工授精在美国的平均价格为$12,400。和其他就像其他非常精细的医疗程序一样,人工受精需要相当专业的医生和先进的实验室和设备,这个过程可能需要重复才能成功。虽然试管受精和其他辅助生殖技术成本高昂,但它们仅占美国医疗费用的百分之三百(0.03%)。

试管婴儿的成功率?

1981年美国第一次引进试管婴儿技术。根据辅助生殖技术学会统计,美国的试管婴儿目前在辅助生殖技术中占99%,平均存活率占34%。试管婴儿成功几率高于20%健康的夫妻在一个月内怀孕并顺利分娩。

保险能够报销不孕不育治疗费用吗?

保险报销将取决于你住在哪里以及保险计划的类型。目前有15个州的法律要求保险公司承担或报销至少部分不孕不育的诊断和治疗。这些州是阿肯色州、加利福尼亚州、康涅狄格州、夏威夷州、伊利诺伊州、路易斯安那州、马里兰州、马萨诸塞州、蒙大拿州、新泽西州、纽约州、俄亥俄州、罗德岛州、德克萨斯州和西弗吉尼亚州。

但是,现行法律的适用范围可能大不相同。需要了解更多的信息您就需要联系您州内的保险专员办公室。需要了解您的州正在进行的保险立法,您可以联系您的州代表。

无论您是否生活在一个有不孕症保险法的州,你都可以选择咨询您公司的人力资源部门,以确定您保险提供的范围。

不同国家的保险规定是不同的。您将需要了解在您的国家的保险情况、是否能报销或者报销多少。

因为想要孩子和为人父母是人们最基本的愿望,所以人们不应该被不孕不育的医疗供保险拒绝。

Last updated: October 12, 2018 at 14:55 pm


Compiled using information from the following sources:

1. Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology (SART)

http://www.sart.org

2. RESOLVE: The National Infertility Association

http://www.resolve.org

3. NCSL, National Conference of State Legislature

http://www.ncsl.org

What is Infertility?

What is infertility

Infertility is a condition of the reproductive system that prevents the conception of children. It affects approximately 10-15% of couples throughout the United States. The diagnosis of infertility is usually given to couples who have been attempting to conceive for at least 1 year without success.

Conception and pregnancy are complicated processes that depend upon a number of factors, including:

  • the production of healthy sperm by the man
  • healthy eggs produced by the woman
  • unblocked fallopian tubes that allow the sperm to reach the egg
  • the sperm’s ability to fertilize the egg when they meet
  • the ability of the fertilized egg (embryo) to become implanted in the woman’s uterus
  • sufficient embryo quality

Finally, for the pregnancy to progress to full term the embryo must be healthy and the woman’s hormonal environment adequate for its development.  If just one of these factors is impaired, infertility can be the result.

Is infertility primarily a woman’s problem?

It is a common assumption that infertility is primarily related to the woman. In reality, only one-third of infertility cases are related to the woman alone. Statistically, one-third of infertility problems are related to men and the remaining one-third is a combination of fertility factors involving both partners or unknown causes. Unknown causes account for approximately twenty percent of infertility cases.

What causes infertility in men?

The most common causes of male infertility are azoospermia (no sperm cells are produced) and oligospermia (few sperm cells are produced).  Sometimes, sperm cells are malformed or they die before they can reach the egg. In rare cases, infertility in men is caused by a genetic disease such as cystic fibrosis or a chromosomal abnormality.

For men with low sperm count or motility issues, clinically proven supplements are available that can improve sperm parameters. Shop Male Supplements

What causes infertility in women?

The most common cause of female infertility is ovulation disorders.  Problems with ovulation affect about 25% of all infertility situations.  Other causes of female infertility include blocked fallopian tubes, which can happen when a woman has had pelvic inflammatory disease or endometriosisCongenital anomalies (birth defects) involving the structure of the uterus, and uterine fibroids which are associated with repeated miscarriages; and aging, since the ability for ovaries to produce eggs tends to decline with age, especially after the age of 35.

When should someone get tested for infertility?

The American Society of Reproductive Medicine recommends that women under 35 begin testing after trying to conceive unsuccessfully for 12 months. The recommendation for women over 35 is to begin testing after trying to conceive unsuccessfully for 6 months. Some couples or individuals find that they are more relaxed when trying to conceive if they believe that everything is normal.

How early can you get tested?

Couples may request that their health care provider conduct an exam to determine if everything is healthy and working correctly. It is also possible to use over-the-counter screening tests using testing kits to evaluate key aspects of fertility for both men and women.

How is infertility diagnosed?

As already noted, couples are generally advised to seek medical help if they are unable to achieve pregnancy after a year of unprotected intercourse.  The doctor will conduct a physical examination of both partners to determine their general state of health and to search for physical disorders that may be contributing to infertility. The doctor will usually interview both partners about their sexual habits in order to determine whether intercourse is taking place properly for conception.

If no cause can be determined at this point, more specific tests may be recommended. For women, these include an analysis of body temperature and ovulation, x-ray of the fallopian tubes and uterus, and laparoscopy. For men, initial tests focus on semen analysis.

How is infertility treated?

Approximately 85-90% of infertility cases are treated with conventional therapies such as drug treatment or surgical repair of reproductive organs.  Assisted reproductive technologies such as in vitro fertilization account for the remaining infertility treatment options. Some people find it helpful to hear about the experiences of other infertile couples and to communicate with them. The pregnancy forums of APA or Shared Journey are sites where you can read and share stories.

What is in vitro fertilization (IVF)?

In cases of blocked or absent fallopian tubes or low sperm count, in vitro fertilization (IVF) offers couples the opportunity of biological parenthood.

During IVF, eggs are surgically removed from the ovary and mixed with sperm outside the body in a Petri dish. After about 40 hours, the eggs are examined to see if they have become fertilized by the sperm and are dividing into cells. These fertilized eggs (embryos) are then placed in the women’s uterus, by-passing the fallopian tubes.

IVF has received a great deal of media attention since it was first introduced in 1978 and currently accounts for less than five percent of all infertility treatments in the United States.

Is in vitro fertilization expensive ?

The average cost of an IVF cycle in the United States is $12,400. Like other extremely delicate medical procedures, IVF involves highly trained professionals with sophisticated laboratories and equipment, and the cycle might need to be repeated in order to be successful. While IVF and other assisted reproductive technologies are can be costly, they account for only three hundredths of one percent (0.03%) of U.S. health care costs.

Does in vitro fertilization work?

IVF was introduced in the United States in 1981. According to Society of Assisted Reproductive Technology (SART), who tracks ART success rates in the U.S., IVF currently accounts for more than 99% of ART procedures, with GIFT, ZIFT and combination procedures making up the remainder. The average live birth rate for IVF in 2008 was 34% of all cycles. The results are slightly better than the 20% chance that a reproductively healthy couple has of achieving a pregnancy in a given month and carrying it to term.

Do insurance plans cover infertility treatment?

The services covered by insurance will depend on where you live and the type of insurance plan. Fifteen states currently have laws that require insurers to cover or offer to cover at least a portion of infertility diagnosis and treatment. Those states are Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Montana, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Rhode Island, Texas and West Virginia. However, the existing laws vary greatly in their scope of what might be covered. For more information about specific laws in each of those states, you may contact your state’s Insurance Commissioner’s office. To learn about pending insurance legislation in your state, you may contact your State Representative.

Whether or not you live in a state with an infertility insurance law, you can choose to consult with your employer’s Human Resources Department to determine the exact coverage your plan provides. Another resource for determining coverage is, “Infertility Insurance Advisor: An Insurance Counseling Program for Infertile Couples.” This booklet is available for a small fee from RESOLVE, an infertility patient advocacy and information organization.

Because the desire to have children and be a parent is fundamental to being human, people should not be denied insurance coverage for medically appropriate treatment for problems of infertility.

For More Information on Infertility:

Last Updated: 09/2014

Compiled using information from the following sources:

Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology (SART), http://www.sart.org

RESOLVE: The National Infertility Association, http://www.resolve.org

NCSL, National Conference of State Legislature, http://www.ncsl.org