输精管切除术后男性生育能力检查

输精管切除术后的男性生育能力测试是一个正常的常规程序。该测试的目的是验证输精管结扎手术是有用的,射精液中不存在精子。spermicide

根据美国绝育合作回顾的研究,近1 / 100的输精管切除术会导致随后的怀孕。这个手术成功率实际上是被夸大的。

大多数怀孕发生在手术后的最初几周,当时所有现存的精子还没有排出体外。射精前20次应采取避孕措施,并通过男性生育能力测试确认该手术的效果。

输精管切除术后男性生育能力测试应在什么时候进行?

通常需要数周的时间,精子才会完全消失在射精液中。根据约翰霍普金斯医学院的研究,85%的男性在术后10周内射精液中不会出现精子。此外,男性在此期间应该至少射精20次。值得注意的是,美国泌尿科医师协会建议患者在术后第一周避免射精。

在10周内发生20次射精后即可完成检测。但是,通常情况下是等待12周来增加检查结果的准确性。

如果在10周做检查的时候发现精子的存在,那么您就需要在2-4周之后再重新做一次检查。 如果想避免潜在的怀孕,夫妻应该在这几周内一直使用避孕套。

其他的测试选择

精管切除手术是一种永久的避孕手段并且避孕的有效率到达99%。精管切除并不能预防性传播疾病。

但是,在2000个手术中有不超过1例的手术,精子能够创造新的怀孕机会。

可以每年或每隔一段时间进行额外的男性生育能力测试,以确认该手术如预期的那样。

输精管切除术后,哪里可以进行男性生育能力测试?

与您的泌尿科医生复查是术后男性的生育测试是一个正常的检查。检查样品会在医生那里收集然后分析精液中是否有精子。

对于很多相信手术成功的男性来说,坚持术后检查都是一个挑战。他们都希望有一个成功的概率,但是建议进行一定的测试。

男性生育测试可以在家里自检。您可以在您手术时或术前询问您的泌尿科医生有关家用男性生育测试。很可能您的医生会有家用的生育测试,这样您就可以自己在家里测试精管切除手术的成功性。

SpermCheck是美国妊娠协会的赞助商并且他们会提供家用精子测试。

对于那些不愿去看医生或觉得这一过程令人尴尬的男性来说,家庭男性生殖测试往往是他们的首选。建议通过测试来确认这些方法是否有效并继续有效,而在家进行的男性生育测试增加了男性遵守后续检测的可能性。

遵守后续检测,以确认该手术的效果和避免未来怀孕是重要的。如果有任何问题,您应该联系您的泌尿科医生并跟进。

Last updated: January 7, 2019 at 12:42 pm

Compiled using information from the following sources:

  1. American Urological Association, Vasectomy, https://www.auanet.org/guidelines/vasectomy-(2012-reviewed-for-currency-2015). Retrieved August 2018.
  2. Johns Hopkins Medicine, Health Library, Vasectomy, https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/healthlibrary/conditions/mens_health/vasectomy_85,P00731. Retrieved August 2018.

Male Fertility Testing After Vasectomy

spermicideMale fertility testing after a vasectomy is a normal routine procedure.  The test is conducted to verify that the vasectomy procedure worked correctly and that there are no sperm present in the ejaculation fluid.

According to research from the US Collaborative Review of Sterilization, nearly 1 in 100 vasectomy procedures results in a subsequent pregnancy.  This number is exaggerated to the actual success rate of the procedure.

The majority of these pregnancies occur during the first few weeks after the procedure when all of the currently existing sperm have not been expelled.  Patients should use contraception during the first 20 ejaculations as well as confirming the procedure worked through male fertility testing.

When should male fertility testing be done following a Vasectomy?

It normally takes several weeks before your sperm will be completely absent in the ejaculate fluid. According to Johns Hopkins Medicine, 85% of men will show no sperm in their ejaculate fluid after a 10 week period following the procedure.  Additionally, men should have at least 20 ejaculations during that timeframe.  It is important to note that the American Urologist Association recommends that patients avoid ejaculation during the first week after the procedure.

Testing may be completed after 20 ejaculations have occurred over a 10 week period following the completion of the procedure.  However, it is common to wait 12 weeks to increase the probability of an accurate result.

If semen is present during testing at your 10 week follow up, testing should reoccur 2 to 4 weeks later.  Couples should use a condom throughout all of these weeks if the desire is to avoid a potential pregnancy.

Additional Testing Options

Vasectomy is considered a permanent form of contraception and is 99% effective at preventing pregnancy.  A vasectomy does nothing to prevent the transmission of a sexually transmitted infection.

However, in no more than 1 in 2000 procedures, the sperm and vas deferens will create a new path establishing a new opportunity for pregnancy to occur.

Additional male fertility testing can be conducted at annual or periodic intervals to confirm the procedure continues to work as expected.

Where can male fertility testing be done after a Vasectomy?

Male fertility testing is usually part of a normal post-procedure follow up with your urologist.  The sample will be collected at the office of your urologist and then evaluated for the presence of sperm.

Compliance is a challenge with many men forgoing any follow up procedure believing that the procedure was successful.  The probability of a successful procedure is in their favor but testing is recommended to be certain.

Male fertility testing can be done in the privacy of your home with at-home male fertility tests.  You may also ask your urologist about a home male fertility test during your procedure or pre-procedure consults.  It is possible your urologist may have an at-home test you can use to evaluate the success of the vasectomy yourself.

SpermCheck is a corporate sponsor with the American Pregnancy Association and they provide an at-home sperm test.  You can learn more here.

At-home male fertility tests are often the preference for men who prefer not to go to the doctor’s office or find the process embarrassing.  Testing to confirm things have worked and continue to work are recommended, and at-home male fertility tests increase the probability that men will be compliant.

Compliance with follow up testing to confirm the procedure worked and avoid future pregnancies is important.  If there are any questions, you should contact your urologist and follow up.

Last updated: October 19, 2018 at 8:51 am

Compiled using information from the following sources:

1. American Urological Association, Vasectomy, https://www.auanet.org/guidelines/vasectomy-(2012-reviewed-for-currency-2015). Retrieved August 2018.

1. Johns Hopkins Medicine, Health Library, Vasectomy, https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/healthlibrary/conditions/mens_health/vasectomy_85,P00731. Retrieved August 2018.