排卵常见问题

ovulation frequently asked questions

如何计算我何时排卵?

计算排卵的时间是很复杂的,需要您了解自己的身体并计算出周期。通过观察您阴道分泌物和每日测量您的体温相结合并记录您的月经周期,这样您就能更好地确定自己排卵的时间。

美国妊娠协会鼓励女性通过记录月经周期并结合使用排卵试纸的生育常识方法就能更好地明白您何时排卵。排卵通常都是在女性上一次月经(LMP)结束的第11-21天之间,或者是从您下次月经来潮前12-16天之间。

难道女性不是在她们月经开始之后的第14天开始排卵吗?

不幸的是,这是一个迷,许多人包括专业医疗人士也是这样认为的。“第14天排卵”这种想法是根据所有女性平均排卵时间来计算的或者根据女性28天月经周期平均分成一半来计算的。这其实并不是计算排卵日期的最精确的方法,因为许多女性并不是在她们周期的第14天排卵的!

女性的排卵日期因人而异,对于一位女性来说甚至可能会因月份而异。对于周期为28天的女性来说,排卵期是在她月经周期中的第11天至第21天之间,在排卵期中的任何一天都有可能排卵。

在排卵期中究竟有多少天能真正受孕?

在您的排卵期中,一个卵子只能在12-24小时之间受精。虽然精子可以通过性交后在女性体内存活3-5天,但是卵子只有一天时间可以受精,所以您的最佳受孕期大概就是5-7天。

在经期是否能排卵?

这个问题的答案根据月经来决定。月经其实是在排卵12-16天之后,子宫内膜脱落时出的血,所以您在月经期是不可能排卵的。

然而,有些女性在排卵前后会出血,就可能误认为自己来月经了。这种情况发生在那些月经周期不规律的女性身上,可能会每三个月来一次或是每个月来2-3次,这种情况也会发生在那些月经周期规律的女性身上。女性可能会经历跟月经来时一样的情况,但事实上这很有可能是排卵出血,如果您有出血的症状也就表明了您正在排卵。

请记住:当您在月经期间时,一般来说是不可能排卵的,在女性月经时进行性交有可能受孕,因为精子可以在女性体内存活3-5天,您有可能碰巧就在来完月经后的3-5天内就排卵了。

有没有可能在月经后马上排卵?

对于这个问题的答案取决于您的月经周期是多少天。您月经周期的计算是从月经的第一天算起一直到下次月经开始的第一天这之间的天数。如果您的周期比较短,比如只有21天的话,您可能会出血7天,然后可能在您月经结束时立刻开始排卵。

这是因为通常排卵都是在您下次月经开始之前的12-16天之间发生,这样一来估计您周期里的排卵大概就是6-10天左右。

在月经期间有可能怀孕吗?

虽然您在经期不会受孕,但是在月经期间进行性交也有可能会导致您怀孕。这是因为精子只能在您体内存活最多5天,如果女性在她经期过后马上排卵的话,那么即使在她经期中性交也是会受孕的。只要记住:您可能会在出现排卵流血时怀孕(请参看之前的关于排卵出血和月经来潮的详细解析)。

分泌白色有弹性的宫颈粘液时是否可能排卵?

即使您并没有出现我们所说的的在排卵中会伴随有“蛋白色的弹性”分泌物 时,您也可能正在排卵。每个女性都会有她自己的宫颈粘液。排卵被假设始于一个女性开始分泌大量湿液的那一天。如果一位女性并没有分泌“蛋白色”的宫颈粘液的话,那么有一些天然产品可以帮助她增加宫颈粘液的分泌。

如果有弹性的宫颈粘液分泌超过一天时,这是什么意思?

许多女性会在排卵之前的几天就开始分泌宫颈粘液而且甚至可能在排卵结束后还在分泌。当您通过观察宫颈粘液发现您正在排卵时,注意观察在12-24小时之间是分泌粘液最多的时候。

这种情况通常出现在快要排卵的时候,卵子已经做好受精的准备。虽然您在排卵的前几天有过性交,但是您还是有可能怀孕的。

若是排卵试纸显示为阳性,是否意味着正在排卵?

排卵试纸是专门检测到黄体生成激素(LH)。黄体生成激素会在排卵前开始上升。所以使用试纸是检查你是不是将会排卵,但却并不能确定您的确排卵了。

患有多囊卵巢、卵巢早哀(POF)或是那些四十岁以上绝经的女性,她们的黄体生成激素水平就会很高。而且,那些患有黄体未破裂卵泡综合症(LUFS)的女性的黄体生成激素会激增,但不会排卵。只要是这些情况中的任何一种都会在您使用排卵试纸时结果显示为阳性。

排卵迹象有哪些?

虽然许多女性可能只会注意到以下迹象中的一种或两种,但是排卵迹象可能会是任何一种:

  • 宫颈粘液(白带)的改变
  • 宫颈位置及其硬度改变
  • 腹部的一侧感觉到短暂的刺痛或顿痛
  • 轻微出血
  • 性欲增强
  • 使用排卵试纸检测到黄体生成激素水平增高
  • 基础体温图表显示出持续的变化
  • 乳房变柔然
  • 腹胀
  • 视觉、嗅觉、味觉增强

女性能在每次周期中排卵超过一次

每个女性不可能在每次周期中排卵一次以上。所以,女性也不可能在一个周期中怀孕两次。多次排卵只可能发生在一个周期中释放两个或多个卵子。

在一个24小时周期中释放两个卵子时可能出现异卵双胞胎的诞生。据认为在所有的排卵周期中大约5-10%会出现这种情况,但是由于一种被称为“双胎消失现象”的情形,所以这种现象并不一定就是双胞胎的结果。

没有月经的情况下是否还会排卵?

由于女性在她月经来潮之前的12-16天时会排一颗卵子,所以对于女性来说月经不来也是可能会怀孕的。那些由于某些原因(诸如:体重较低、哺乳期、更年期等)没有来月经的女性可能会因为排卵的重新开始而面临怀孕的风险。

若是您在排卵两个星期之后仍然没有来月经的话,您可能需要验孕。

对于那些想要怀孕的女性来说,如果她不观察自己的基础体温以及宫颈粘液变化情况的话,不来月经可能会导致她们更难以知道自己排卵的时间。但若是您有一段时间没有来月经而且也很想知道如何避孕的话,您更应该采取避孕措施,由于没有任何方法可以让您确切地知道自己何时排卵。

是否可能在有月经来潮的情况下仍然不排卵?

有月经来潮必不一定意味着您正常的排卵。有些女性可能有无排卵周期(就意味着不排卵)的情况。女性在一次无排卵周期中,可能会出现像月经一样的流血症状,但这其实并不是真正的月经。

这种出血是由于不断增厚的子宫内膜不能够维持自身或者雌激素下降所引起的,那么分辨是否排卵就要通过跟踪记录您的基础体温。

Last updated: June 12, 2018 at 10:35 am


Compiled using information from the following sources:

1. Weschler, T. (2002). Taking charge of your fertility. New York, NY: HarperCollins Publishers Inc.

2. Baerwald A.R., Adams G.P., Pierson R.A. A new model for ovarian follicular development during the human menstrual cycle. Fertility and Sterility. July 2003. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/S0015-0282(03)00544-2

http://www.fertstert.org/article/S0015-0282(03)00544-2/fulltext

Ovulation Frequently Asked Questions

Image of woman asking questions about her ovulation

How do I calculate when I am ovulating?

The timing of ovulation is complex and can take some studying of your body and cycles to figure out. By using a combination of methods such as observing your cervical fluid, taking your basal body temperature daily, and tracking your periods, you can better identify your time of ovulation.

The American Pregnancy Association encourages women to learn about the fertility awareness method of tracking cycles and combine that with using ovulation predictor kits to best understand when you are ovulating. The Association estimates that ovulation occurs anywhere between 11-21 days after the first day of your last menstrual period (LMP), or 12-16 days from when you expect the next menstrual period to start. Order a Fertility Kit or Monitor

If you are trying to get pregnant, you may want to download a free copy of the Essential Guide for Getting Pregnant. This ebook has information and tips for getting pregnant quicker and easier.

Take your questions to the Free Forum right now!

Don’t women ovulate on the 14th day after their period starts?

Unfortunately this is a myth that many, including healthcare professionals, still believe. The “14th day” thinking appears to come from either taking the average of when all women ovulate or from just dividing the 28 day cycle in half. This is not an accurate way to calculate ovulation because many women do NOT ovulate on the 14th day of their cycle.

The day of ovulation differs from woman to woman and can even be different from month to month for an individual woman. For a woman with a 28 day cycle, the window of ovulation is day 11 through day 21 of your cycle. Ovulation could occur on any one day during this window.

During my ovulation time, how many days am I really fertile?

During your window of ovulation, an egg is only available to be fertilized for about 12-24 hours. But since sperm can live in the body for 3-5 days after sex, and the egg is available for one day, your most fertile time is considered to be about 5-7 days.

Can I ovulate during my period?

The answer to this question depends on what is considered a period. Menstruation or a period is the bleeding that occurs when the endometrium is shed 12 to 16 days after ovulation. With this definition of a period, you cannot ovulate while on your period.

However, some women experience mid-cycle or ovulatory bleeding (bleeding that occurs around ovulation) and may mistake it for a period. This can be seen in some women who have very irregular cycles, maybe coming once every 3 months or 2-3 times in one month, although it can occur in women with regular cycles as well. They may experience what appears to be a period, but, in reality, this is most likely ovulatory bleeding. Ovulation can occur when you experience mid-cycle or ovulatory bleeding.

Keep in mind that while you cannot technically ovulate while on a period, because sperm can live in the body for 3-5 days after sex, pregnancy could occur from intercourse that takes place during a period.

Can I ovulate right after my period?

The answer to this question is determined by how many days are in your cycle. The number of days in your cycle is calculated by counting the number of days from the beginning of one period to the beginning of the next period. If you have a short cycle, for example 21 days, and you bleed for 7 days, then you could ovulate right after your period.

This is because ovulation generally occurs 12-16 days before your next period begins, and this would estimate you ovulating at days 6-10 of your cycle.

Can I get pregnant during my period?

While conception cannot occur while you are on your period, pregnancy can occur from intercourse that takes place during a period.  This is because sperm can live in the body for up to five days, and if a woman ovulates soon after her period, then conception could take place from intercourse that occurred during her period. Keep in mind that you can get pregnant while experiencing mid-cycle or ovulatory bleeding. (See above for clarification regarding ovulatory bleeding and menstruation).

Can I ovulate without detecting the stretchy white cervical fluid?

Ovulation can take place even if you do not notice the “stretchy egg-white” fluid that we assume accompanies ovulation. Every woman can experience her own type of cervical fluid. Ovulation is assumed to take place on the day a woman has the most amount of wet fluid. If a woman is not experiencing “egg white” cervical fluid, natural products are available to help increase cervical fluid production.

What does it mean if I have the stretchy cervical fluid on more than one day?

Many women can experience cervical fluid a few days before ovulation actually takes place and can even have it after ovulation has finished.  When studying your cervical fluid to determine when you are ovulating, look for the 12-24 hour time-frame with the greatest amount of wet fluid.

This generally occurs around ovulation when an egg is available for fertilization, although intercourse that happens on the few days before this can also result in pregnancy.

If an ovulation predictor test kit says positive, that means that I am for sure ovulating, right?

Ovulation predictor kits determine whether the luteinizing hormone (LH) is detected. The luteinizing hormone (LH) rises right before ovulation occurs. Therefore the kits are supposed to detect whether you’re going to ovulate but cannot ensure that you do ovulate.

Women may have a high level of the LH if they have certain conditions such as polycystic ovaries, premature ovarian failure (POF), or for women over age 40 who are experiencing perimenopause. Also women with Luteinized Unruptured Follicle Syndrome (LUFS) may have a surge in the LH hormone without ovulating. Any of these conditions could result in a false positive result on an ovulation predictor test.

What are signs of ovulation?

The signs of ovulation can be any of the following, although many women may only notice one or two of these:

  • Change in cervical fluid
  • Change in cervical position and cervical firmness
  • Brief twinge of pain or dull ache that is felt on one side of the abdomen
  • Light spotting
  • Increase in sex drive
  • Elevated level of the luteinizing hormone which can be detected on an ovulation test
  • Basal body temperature chart that shows a consistent change
  • Breast tenderness
  • Abdominal bloating
  • Heightened sense of vision, smell, or taste

Can a woman ovulate more than once during each cycle?

A woman cannot ovulate more than once during each cycle. Therefore, she cannot get pregnant more than once during a cycle. Multiple ovulation can occur and is when two or more eggs are released in a single cycle.

Both eggs are released during one 24 hour period and are responsible for the birth of fraternal twins. It is believed that this may occur in as many as 5-10% of all cycles but does not result in that many twins due to a type of miscarriage referred to as the “vanishing twin phenomenon.”

Can I ovulate without having a period?

Since a woman releases an egg 12-16 days before her expected period, it is possible for women to get pregnant without having periods. Women who are not menstruating due to a certain condition (i.e. low body weight, breastfeeding, perimenopause, etc…) risk the chance of getting pregnant because ovulation could start again at any point.

If you ovulate and do not start your period a couple weeks later, you may want to take a pregnancy test.

For those who want to conceive, the lack of periods could make it more difficult to know the timing of ovulation if you are not charting your basal temperature and cervical fluid changes.  But if you are not having periods and wanting to prevent pregnancy, a form of contraception should be used since there is no way to know when ovulation will occur.

Can I have a period and still not have ovulated?

Having a period does not necessarily mean that ovulation has taken place. Some women may have what is called an anovulatory cycle, (meaning ovulation has not occurred). During an anovulatory cycle, women may experience some bleeding which may appear to be a period, although this is actually not a true period.

This bleeding is caused by either a buildup in the uterine lining that can no longer sustain itself or by a drop in estrogen. The main way to decipher if ovulation is in fact taking place is by tracking your basal body temperature.

Last Updated: 6/2015