Thread: HFM Disease

Default HFM Disease

There is a confirmed case of HFM in Mira's classroom. The parents found out today, and called immediately to let the school know. DH wants to keep DD home for the next few days, but I'm not sure what that accomplishes. I'm not sure if she should skip her swim class on Saturday, and her first birthday invite on Sunday (it's a classmate, so chances are, they've both been exposed to this thing).

For those with experience - how long after exposure did your LOs get sick? How long until the kids get better? Stuff I read says that the kids can be infectious for weeks after they are better, so did you just keep them home the whole time?

Thats a tough one, I have no advice or experience with HFM but Goodluck and many

I dress myself!

Blog Entries

She has probably already been exposed. Kids are contagious prior to and through the end of the fever (well 24 hours after it is gone).
    Last edited by JJorn; 10-03-2012 at 03:07 PM.
    Jessica (33) and Ryan (33). Madelyn born August 5, 2009; Malachi born December 23, 2010 and Nathaniel born July 19, 2013. Lost a loved baby 02/29/12, 05/14/12 and 07/05/12 all due a serious allergic reaction to fabric softener.
    My Ovulation Chart , My blog about MCAD

Yes, she has likely been exposed but I'd still be tempted to keep her away if alternate childcare wasn't too difficult. It's really awful. I actually thought the contagious part was over once the fever and sores were gone.

Blog Entries

That is what I thought, too, but when we had it the doctor said that 24 hours after the fever they were no longer contagious. She said that they could go back to school/daycare at that point.
    Jessica (33) and Ryan (33). Madelyn born August 5, 2009; Malachi born December 23, 2010 and Nathaniel born July 19, 2013. Lost a loved baby 02/29/12, 05/14/12 and 07/05/12 all due a serious allergic reaction to fabric softener.

This is from CDC: